Lemon Yogurt Cakelettes

Happy Friday! Since mother nature is raining on our TGIF-parade, I decided to manufacture some sunshine (and I may or may not have had some citrus begging to be used in my fridge).

Molly Wizenberg’s book “A Homemade Life” is quickly becoming one of my most favorite books of all time. Half cookbook, half short stories, half memoir, all around inspiring and completely heart-warming.

This recipe was one of the first she posted on orangette, and that post prompted a man on the other side of the country to send an email to the author of this great blog. and then they got married. How adorable, right??

I’m not giving you the recipe so you have to go get the book yourself. Note that I did almost double the amount of zest she calls for. I like my lemon baked goods to smack you right in the face with flavor. I also used nonfat Greek yogurt, because my bathing suit was glaring at me from the second floor. They came out amazing-not too sweet, not too tangy, and fluffy but with enough weight they dont fall apart when you eat them. That lemony glaze on top really seals the deal.

I did cakelettes (NOT cupcakes. So over those.) and I think they’re pretty adorable too. Manfriend, hater of all things sweet, declared “these are REALLY good.” What is it about beefcakes and these cakes? (ba dum dum)

Hope these make for a happy Friday, Easter, heck a whole happy weekend!

20110422-015023.jpg

One response

Leave a Reply

