ugly.

U-G-L-Y You ain’t go no alibi. You’re ugly. Yea. Yea, you’re ugly.

These little guys are not winning any beauty pageants. But MAN are they tasty.  Last weekend I went on an autumnal baking extravaganza. Manfriend’s only request was “like a brownie or a blondie or something.” Blondies* have never been my favorite thing–I associate them with kinda bland, dry cakey bars full of  nuts (which i detest in baked goods). But, I wanted to do something with pumpkin and I knew the flavor would get lost in regular chocolate brownies.  I whipped these guys up then realized: they had to bake for “35-40 minutes” which means “45-50” minutes in my oven.  It was 10:10am. I had a yoga class at 11:00. Dilemma.

Looking back, I could have just waited to bake them until I got back. But they were already in the oven and didnt think gently heating raw batter then letting it sit at room temperature would be the…safest thing in the world. So I let them continue baking and around 10:50, I turned the oven off. And left.  I returned to a cold oven and…this

Victory, right? Looks like its baked all the way through….feels like it’s baked all the way through. I let them cool and tried to slice them up. That’s where it all went wrong. Chef’s knife, serrated knife, nothing would give me a clean cut.

And, what I had originally feared had come true: the very center of the pan wasn’t raw…but I wouldn’t call it done. So, I tossed the middle 4 bars, tasted some crumbs (to make sure it doesn’t taste like soap or something), packaged away the survivors, and moved on.

Manfriend returned Monday night from his romp in Manhattan, so Tuesday morning I packed up some treats for both of us to take to work. I promptly got distracted by an absolutely incredible mocha milkshake from these guys and forgot about the treats.  Well yesterday I broke them out and HOLY HELL were they delicious.  All the spices definitely blended and enhanced the pumpkin so much more from the original bits I tasted.  Thanks to my brilliant yoga/oven maneuver, they were really moist and decadent.  Really, really freaking tasty. My fear of blondies has been conquered AND we’ve found a fantastic fall treat.

Print | Bookmark | Email

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Blondies

My Baking Addiction

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 (15 ounce) can pure pumpkin puree
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line bottom and sides of a 9-by-13-inch baking pan with parchment, leaving an overhang on all sides. Grease with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars on medium-high speed until smooth; beat in egg and vanilla until combined. Beat in pumpkin puree. If the mixture looks curdled, do not fret.
  4. Reduce speed to low, and mix in dry ingredients until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips and pecans.
  5. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan. Bake until edges begin to pull away from sides of pan and a toothpick inserted in center comes out with just a few moist crumbs attached, 35 to 40 minutes. Cool completely in pan.
  6. Storage: Store the pumpkin blondies in a single layer inside an airtight container for up to three days.

*the irony has not been lost on me that I am, in fact, a blonde. i hope you have a good giggle over this.

2 responses

  1. Hey Blondie 🙂
    I’m making them now, but I can’t find an amount for the pecans. I’m going to ‘wing it’ but I’m not usually successful when I go off the board and make my own modifications. So, for future reference…
    Thanks
    PS I’m always inspired by your culinary adventurousness!

    • Anne! I’m so thrilled you find my culinary insanity so inspiring 🙂

      The original recipe calls for 3/4 c. of pecans–you could probably add up to 1 cup and be fine. Any kind of mix-in is usually pretty forgiving, so you should be good–can’t wait to hear how they turn out!!

Leave a Reply

