back on the wagon

aaaand we’re back! its been a while, eh? i could give a million reasons for my absence, but the fact of the matter is we’re here now. and you better enjoy my company, dammit.

For today: falafel.  nestled in a bed of arugula and stuffed in a pita slathered with cucumber-yogurt sauce.

This was great right away, but I think got even better after a day or so once all the spices and flavors in the patties and the sauce had time to get to know each other.  These make great leftovers for weekday lunches–though I would recommend assembling right before you eat, the yogurt sauce will render the pita soggy and gross. I also woefully under-salted my patties (BAD cook!) but the warmth from the garam masala saved my rear.

And now, in a move of sheer genius, I’ve completely forgotten where I found this recipe. Yep I’m awesome.  Nick at Macheesemo has one that looks mildly familiar, so I’ll use his as a starting point and give you some colorful commentary along the way.

Chickpea Patties with Yogurt Sauce (Adapted from Macheesemo who adapted it from America’s Test Kitchen 30 Minutes Suppers )
Makes 8 patties.

2 (15-ounce) cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
– 2 Teaspoons garam masala (original is 1 tsp.)
– 2 Tablespoons olive oil
– 2 eggs
– 1/2 Cup toasted bread crumbs
– 4 scallions, minced
– 1/2 Cup Greek yogurt
– 3 Tablespoons cilantro, minced
– Pinch of salt

Tzatziki Sauce:
– 1 Cup Greek yogurt
– 1 cucumber, shredded
– 2 Tablespoons scallions
– 1 Tablespoon cilantro
– Pinch of salt

Tzatziki: Dump all ingredients in a bowl. Mix. Done. (Nick salted his cucumber for 10-15 minutes to draw out some  moisture. I didn’t. I lived)

Patties:

  • Whisk together your eggs, garam masala, oil, and pinch of salt into a small bowl.
  • Add all your drained and rinsed chickpeas into a large bowl and mush them up with either a fork or a potato masher. (If you want it to be super-smooth, you can throw these bad boys in a food processor).
  • Then stir in your egg/spice mixture, breadcrumbs, and all the other ingredients.  (Nick: You’ll end up with this very thick paste of sorts.  Again, it doesn’t look great, but it’ll smell really good and trust me it’ll taste good also.)
  • Divide the mixture into 8 (or 6) equal parts and then form round patties out of the mixture about 3/4 of an inch thick.
  • In a pan over high heat, add 2 Tablespoons of olive oil and when it’s glistening, add your patties. (Don’t crowd your patties. Do these in batches if you have to. Or, in my case, if you just spent an hour in spin class and might pass out if you don’t eat NOW, cook one pattie. Eat. Then cook the rest later. Not much later–like I wouldn’t have this stuff chilling in the fridge for days–but you can eat and then make the rest an hour later. )
  • Cook until browned on each side (about 5 minutes per side).
  • Consume with tzatziki. You can go bare and just eat ’em on a plate…you can stuff them in a pita like me…you could put them on burger buns….i bet they would also be good crumbled up on salad greens. Hot creamy falafel, cool crisp lettuce. Yep sounds like a winner.

Alright I’m going to end this masterful work of culinary literature before it really goes off the tracks. I’ve got some kickin’ fall recipes in the oven (literally. right now.) so i’ll be BACK.

Leave a Reply

