love is in the air…wait, what’s that smell?

Manfriend and I don’t do anything elaborate for this lovey-dovey holiday, but lord knows I love an excuse to make a big meal (He also knows I actually don’t need an excuse. anyways..).

Unfortunately, the city was still crawling out of their igloos and reports from grocery stores were frightening. So, I did something I NEVER do: went off to the store without any semblance of a plan.  No lists, no inspiration, nothing.  While I needed a few more loops around the store (instead of my usual death-star-precision procurement tactics), I do have to say I was quite successful.

So what exactly did I make? Here’s dish numero uno: broccoli!  I never had broccoli growing up as a kid (thanks mom) which is probably why I enjoy it so much now–its a whole new vegetable!  My go-to broccoli recipe is this Ina Garten recipe, but for February 14 I wanted to try something a little different.  A few quick trips around the interwebs and here we were! I had grabbed a couple lemons at the store because I always like to have them on hand and holy heavens I could finally finish off the pine nuts sitting in my cupboard for who knows how long.

Roasted Broccoli with Lemon Garlic Butter and Toasted Pine Nuts

from Food Network

  • 1 pound broccoli florets
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated lemon zest
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons pine nuts, toasted

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 500 degrees.
  • In a large bowl, toss the broccoli with the oil and salt and pepper to taste. Arrange the florets in a single layer on a baking sheet and roast, turning once, for 12 minutes, or until just tender.
  • Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Add the garlic and lemon zest and heat, stirring, for about 1 minute.

this is highly confidential and mildly embarrassing: I ran out of garlic!

  • Let cool slightly and stir in the lemon juice. Place the broccoli in a serving bowl, pour the lemon butter over it and toss to coat. Scatter the toasted pine nuts over the top

note: make sure your oven is VERY clean before attempting to roast anything at 500 degrees. Mine was not, as my smoke detector can attest.

perfectly toasted and fragrant.

DE-LISH.

Sorry, Ina. I think your vinaigrette just got the boot.

2 responses

  1. Pssst: You should store your nuts in the freezer. They last longer and stay fresher. Rancid nuts are gross. And! You can even pretoast them. Just let them cool before sticking them in a ziplock or container.

Leave a Reply

