shrimp is the fruit of the sea. you can barbecue it, boil it, broil it, bake it, saute it…

Honey, I”m hooooome!  Sorry for the unplanned absence, but I’ve been out and about breaking century-old records.

This was a quick impromptu meal concocted using only the juices of my imagination.  I’m about to attempt to create a recipe from what was essentially, me consulting myself (aloud) about what should go in the dish…we all know my penchant for accuracy and measuring, so bear with me.  BUT this serves as a great example that you too can conquer the kitchen recipe free!  All I purchased for this meal was the shrimp, everything else was in the pantry.  I knew the flavors I liked and that it should be spicy (obviously), and just went with it.  And with me it went…into my belly.

Spicy Shrimp Pasta
A DTMS Original

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined (frozen is totally fine, just thaw them out)
  • 1/2 white onion, finely chopped
  • 3 small garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon capers
  • 1 teaspoon crushed red peppers
  • 1 tablespoon Penzey’s Shallot Pepper
  • 1/4 c. dry white wine
  • 1/2 lb. spaghetti, cooked and drained (any pasta on hand is fine. be the ball.)

Method

  • Put a pot of water on to boil for pasta. Season liberally.
  • Say hello to the very generous half-pound of shrimp the Whole Foods man gave you after you decoded for him the idiot customer’s request for “that one.”

hello.

  • Pick your team.

  • Heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat in a large skillet.
  • Season shrimps on both sides with Shallot Pepper.

  • Saute onions for 5 minutes or so, until slightly soft.  Add garlic, red pepper flakes, and capers.  Cook about 1 minute  (until the garlic gets fragrant).  Add wine, stirring to get any yummy bits off the bottom.
  • Add shrimp.

whenever your water boils, throw the pasta in that pot.

  • Cook shrimp until JUST pink. JUST BARELY PINK. They will not be cooked completely. THAT IS OK. YOU WILL NOT DIE.
  • Add pasta and toss to heat pasta through (mine got a bit cold)

  • Throw a pat of butter on top.

there is a VERY fancy french term for this. I do not remember what it is, but I do remember how nice and silky it makes things.

  • Serve! 20 minutes top-to tail.

America's Test Kitchen says you should not serve cheese with seafood. I think its just fine. (i just couldn't find my parm and hunger was consuming my soul.)

Leave a Reply

