cord on what? cord on who?

This dish was a melding of the minds….and by “melding of the mines” I mean a conversation between me and Manfriend consisting of half-sentences that went something like this:

me: what should we do for dinner?
mf: what do you think?
me: we have chicken. we could stuff it?
mf: or bread it?
me: what if we–
mf: yea!
me: prosciutto?
mf: a smoky cheese? panko?
me: done.

for the layman: we will make a version of chicken cordon bleu,which is thinly pounded chicken breasts rolled up with ham and cheese to make a roulade then  breaded, browned on the stove and baked in the oven.

We subbed ham and swiss for prosciutto and some kind of smoky cheese (later decided on gouda). Then we will roll it in panko breadcrumbs. And it was good.

Next time I would maybe grate the cheese or at very least slice it quite thin, it was a little overwhelming in some bites. (this is reflected in the recipe)

Into the kitchen, with reckless abandon!

Don’t Cordon Me or I’ll Cordon You! (Modified Chicken Cordon Bleu)

a DTMS original

Ingredients

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 4-5 slices prosciutto
  • 1/3 c. grated smoked gouda
  • 1 c. panko breadcrumbs
  • kosher salt
  • fresh cracked black pepper

Method

  • Preheat oven to…let’s say 350.
  • Place chicken breast on large sheet of plastic wrap, fold plastic over chicken.

time to meet your maker.

  • Pound with heavy object until chicken is approximately 1/2″ thick.

this is an excellent technique to employ after a stressful day at your employment.

A rolling pin is particularly effective. Rumor has it they make these things called “meat tenderizers.” I like to just channel this broad:

  • Once you’ve appropriately battered your breast, throw some salt (and pepper) in its wounds.

  • Layer prosciutto and cheese on top of chicken.

notice my large unsightly chunks of gouda.

  • Roll the whole thing up, as tightly as possible without tearing the chicken, and secure the seam with toothpicks.

why do my toothpicks look funny? they aren't really toothpicks. They're pieces of my amish cake tester. but you don't have one of those.

  • Place breadcrumbs on a plate or shallow bowl, season generously with salt and pepper (omit S&P if your breadcrumbs are already seasoned).

poor, poor lighting. bad, bad, blogger.

  • Roll your roulades in the breadcrumb mixture

a traditional cordon bleu calls for you to roll these puppies in flour, then dip in egg, then roll in breadcrumbs. i do not have a dishwasher, so we went the "fewer dishes in the sink" route.

  • Heat a skillet over medium-high, give it about 2 twirls around the pan of oil. Wait until oil is hot, add chickens. Brown on all sides.
  • Place chicken on baking sheet, place in oven.  Bake..well I bake until I touch it and it just feels “done.” “Done” is a tender firmness…not firm like a tennis ball is firm. Lets say 7 minutes or so. You can also just cut a little slit and look.  They’re going to be sliced so you haven’t ruined anything.

perfectly 'done'

  • HOWEVER. YOU MUST LET THEM SIT. LET THEM REST. You just shocked this poor bird halfway (well, full way) to the heavens. Give him time to adjust.  In real terms, the juices all move around during cooking.  They need time to redistribute and get back to where they came from so the entire piece of chicken is juicy. 2-3 minutes is all you need with these little kids.
  • Slice into rounds, on an angle if you want to get crazy, and serve.

And boom goes the dynamite.

4 responses

  1. Methinks some shallot pepper seasoning might be nice? Also, as noted by a coworker — it is important to use WOODEN toothpicks, as (gasp!) the plastic ones have a tendency to melt in the oven [insert her personal anecdote here].

  2. When you were my intern, did you know how to cook like this? And why didn’t you attempt to butter me up (like you needed it, and pun intended) by cooking for me? Furthermore, where the hell were you when I was pregnant and hungry all the time?

  3. In my inaugural effort at your recipes, I made this last night because it was so easy to recall – good stuff! Used capicola and mozzerella. Capicola was a curious choice, but I’ll eat it on anything. I also tossed it in the flour and egg. Makes me want to roll the chicken w/ cheese next time I do chicken parm. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

