muses and slaves…welcome to ancient rome.

Saturday morning, inspiration struck. Recently, Manfriend’s friend…let’s call him the Shoeless Brit…graciously bestowed upon me his mother’s unwanted bread machine. I had made (I use that term loosely, the machine really did the heavy lifting) a great loaf of french bread, but it was on its last legs. No use crying over stale bread–and I had milk! Cream, rather, from the cauliflower soup.  A match made in heaven. French toast was a must!  30 seconds on the interwebs later, we were off and running.

my muse

and its accomplice

This was a little more involved than your traditional french toast..you dip, drain, fry, and bake.  In my opinion, it’s totally worth it.  And you know Alton’s poor (slash–insanely lucky) kitchen assistants tested 8,000 recipe variations to find the best. This meal is in honor of them.

French Toast
from Alton Brown
(and his kitchen slaves)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup half-and-half
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons honey, warmed in microwave for 20 seconds
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 8 (1/2-inch) slices day-old or stale country loaf, brioche or challah bread
  • 4 tablespoons butter

Method

  • In medium size mixing bowl, whisk together the half-and-half, eggs, honey, and salt. You may do this the night before. When ready to cook, pour custard mixture into a pie pan and set aside.

everybody into the pool!

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Dip bread into mixture, allow to soak for 30 seconds on each side, and then remove to a cooling rack that is sitting in a sheet pan, and allow to sit for 1 to 2 minutes.
  • Over medium-low heat, melt 1 tablespoon of butter in a 10-inch nonstick saute pan. Place 2 slices of bread at a time into the pan and cook until golden brown, approximately 2 to 3 minutes per side.

mmmm hands down one of my best foodie pics to date. i RULE.

  • Remove from pan and place on rack in oven for 5 minutes. Repeat with all 8 slices.

why are oven shots so difficult? Oh maybe because i'm crouched over balancing on my toes.

  • Serve immediately with maple syrup, whipped cream or fruit.

I served mine with the fruit of the gods: BACON.

In the spirit of the Food Network, this was YUM-O.  I made the full recipe of dipping liquid for 8 slices, but my 6 soaked it alllll up.  And these reheated like a dream in a 375 oven yesterday morning.

3 responses

  1. So…..your breadmaker good, no?

    Our breadmaker just had its 17th birthday this Christmas (it was a present that I gave TOTALLY without self-interest to your Unkie J). I don’t know what I would do without it (also exactly how I feel about Unkie J…oooh, and the Wallster too). I am poised to replace it when it dies (not so poised for Unkie J and the Wallster, hope I predecease, frankly).

Leave a Reply

