Guest Blogger: Liscious!

You and I both knew it was only a matter of time: I’m honored to announce my very first guest blogger, Liscious!

Hi DTMS. It’s me, Liscious. For those who don’t know me I won’t bog you down with too much information, as I want to get straight to the task at hand, but I thought my bio could best be summarized in a brief haiku:

My name is Liscious
I enjoy baking for fun
I don’t wear color

Alright, let’s get blogging. What started as a night filled with copious amounts of libations, pounds of glorious cookies, and six best friends has now evolved into an annual tradition and really what more could you ask for around the holiday season!

Seeing that we were given free reign over our blog entries describing our baking experiences, I decided to compile the below list of goals as to ensure that she does not revoke my guest blogging privileges in the future.

  1. Successfully make and bake chocolate toffee cookies (compliments of my second favorite food blog Smitten Kitchen);
  2. Fill the holiday void in my life, one that can only be filled by the sweet and savory melding of chocolate, toffee and some walnuts;
  3. Bake said cookies and take DTMS-worthy photos simultaneously without destroying my digital camera and/or burning down my apartment; and finally
  4. Spread some semblance of holiday cheer when my friends bite into these cookies, even if we are too inebriated to remember our delight in the morning.

Chocolate Toffee Cookies
(Source: Smitten Kitchen; Adapted from Bon Appetit)

1/2 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 pound bittersweet (not unsweetened) or semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
1 3/4 cups (packed) brown sugar
4 large eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
5 1.4-ounce chocolate-covered English toffee bars (such as Heath), coarsely chopped
1 cup walnuts, toasted, chopped
Flaky sea salt for sprinkling (optional)

Steps to Ensure Success:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit
  • Combine flour, baking powder and salt in small bowl; whisk to blend.
  • Stir chocolate and butter in top of double boiler set over simmering water until melted and smooth. Remove from over water. Cool mixture to lukewarm.
  • Using electric mixer, beat sugar and eggs in bowl until thick, about five minutes. Beat in chocolate mixture and vanilla.
  • Stir in flour mixture, then toffee and nuts. Chill batter until firm, about 45 minutes.
  • Line two large baking sheets with parchment or waxed paper.
  • Drop batter by spoonfuls onto sheets, spacing two inches apart.
  • Sprinkle with a pinch of flaky sea salt, if you’re using it. Bake just until tops are dry and cracked but cookies are still soft to touch, about 12 to 15 minutes.
  • Cool on sheets.
  • Enjoy!

And voila, that completes my contribution to this year’s annual cookie exchange. I would also like to commend myself for achieving all four of my goals. (Caveat: I did manage to delete every photo I took from my camera after making my cookies. However, after a meltdown, both physically and mentally, my techie boyfriend was able to successfully recover the photos!).

I would like to take this opportunity to thank my dear friend Princess Pantyhose (a.k.a. your editor) for providing this forum where I, and the rest of the ladies, can discuss our annual cookie exchange and our delicious recipes.

I hope everyone has a safe and happy holiday season. And to DTMS, I wish you much success in 2010!!!

xoxo

Liscious

Sustenance for baking.

Chocolate, toffee, and nuts, oh my!

My hand mixer died a slow death mid mixing; I was mortified and had to resort to “gasp” a whisk.

And the arm workout continues.

Waiting for my cookies as they bake in the over (and yes, if you were wondering, it is standard protocol to eat and drink wine while reading Food & Wine Magazine).

After living with Liscious for 2 years, I can testify to what you all are thinking. Yes, she bakes and drinks wearing ONLY an apron.

Holiday goodness.

These are really, really tasty. A thin,crisp crust on the outside and soft and chewy inside (even after 4 days!).  Fantastic! Now Liscious, go put your pants on! xoxo

3 responses

  1. Pingback: c is for cookie « does that make sense?

  2. Pingback: I’m proud to be an American. « does that make sense?

  3. Pingback: i’ll take a rum punch, a glass of wine, and 2 red stripes. « does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

