i hate bananas

Let’s get one thing perfectly clear: I HATE bananas. I hate the way they smell, I hate the way they taste, I hate the texture, and most of all I hate the sound they make when people eat them. If you’ve ever eaten a banana in my presence, we’re probably no longer friends. Sorry.

Imagine how thrilled I was when Manfriend came home with a bunch of bananas. He was fighting a cold, and needed any nutrients he could get, so I resisted bit my tongue and held my nose (the things you do for love). A week or so goes by and a few bananas remain, and they’re starting to turn brown.

“Are you going to eat those?”

“If I don’t do I get banana bread?”

Oooo he knows me too well.

Lo and behold, I was home alone the weekend after Thanksgiving working my little progressive behind off and the little suckers had turned totally brown.

also, please admire my cute new white platter.

I had previously made pete of pete bakes!’s zucchini bread to RAVE reviews in the office, and figured this the perfect opportunity to try his banana bread recipe. And dare I say…it was GOOD. A nice crust on the outside, soft yet dense in the center. The recipe called for 3 bananas and I only had 2, which obviously mitigated the banana flavor, and probably aided my enjoyment.

So if even I, the sworn enemy of bananas, can enjoy this, holy hell I’d be impressed if you can find someone who doesn’t enjoy it.

Banana Bread
Pete Bakes!

Ingredients:

  • 8 Tbsp butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 bananas (the riper the better)
  • 1 Tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 4-6 oz chocolate chips (optional)
  • 4-6 oz chopped walnuts (optional)

Method

  • Soften the butter and mix in the sugar. add in the eggs and mix completely

    this is what creamed butter and sugar look like when you don't have a mixer. its the rand mcnally to your google maps of mixers. still gets the job done.

  • Mash up the bananas in the milk and add the cinnamon. it’s ok if it’s lumpy. add the banana mixture into the butter mixture.

yessssssssss

  • Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a large bowl and add to the wet ingredients. don’t overmix; just break up any large clumps of flour and get everything moist. mix in the chocolate chips or walnuts.

i elected not to add any nuts (i hate nuts in baked goods..wow i'm quite difficult) or chocolate chips (saving them for the zucchini bread..oops! cat's out of the bag. that's coming soon

  • Carefully pour into a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 F for one hour (i go an extra 5 minutes if i add chocolate chips). remove from oven and let rest in the loaf pan for 10 minutes before turning it out onto a wire rack to cool.

what's that in the middle?

oh why it's my amish cake tester!

i keep my amish cake tester right here under a shelf. oh..what's that sign? lets just say, if you visit me, you've been warned.

aaaaaand that's all she wrote.

6 responses

  1. I am probably to blame for your bananaphobic tendencies. They were touted as the perfect first food for babies and being the overachieving mother that I am, I have a feeling I overdid it a tad. Sorry!

  2. I absolutely hate bananas, even when I was a baby. I still do, and I also tried a recipe similar to this, and it was still gross! >.< rawwrr my boyfriend loves bananas and so do everyone I live with, it's horrible.

  3. Pingback: top secret and highly confidential « does that make sense?

  4. Pingback: meatless monday: spinach lasagna « does that make sense?

  5. Pingback: nutritious and delicious | does that make sense?

  6. I hate Bananas too but i like banana chocolate chip muffins…heavy on the chocolate chips but any other way…bananas just make me sick. i know how you feel.

Leave a Reply

