the most wonderful time of the year

One of the great parts about not living in the same place as all your friends and family (ok not that its great, bear with me)  is that birthday celebrations last for EVER.  Gifts need to be shipped, which requires forethought which in turn requires me to cook up my gift list well in advance of the actual event (which is Monday, for those of you who haven’t started shopping yet.) beginning the anticipation that its almost my BIRTHDAY.

No, you haven’t mis-clicked and landed on the page of my diary from when I was 8.  That would be filled with musings of “I hope I get a new pair of ice skates…and maybe those super cool new pink Reeboks. And some scrunchis.”  The excitement and anticipation are much the same…but now over things that house, create, or contain food and drink.  Visions of cookware and utensils dance in my head.

Auntie K had alerted me that a couple gifts were on their way.  Auntie K was first, the magical amazing gift giver from far away, second, a large culinary influence as I grew, and third, a huge fan of DTMS (which is hugly flattering for moi).  SO imagine my excitement when I receive a package slip on my mailbox marked, “2 packages–ONE BIG” (get the giggle out.  It’s fine, I’ll wait).

DSCN4343

if you need another giggle, just imagine me carrying these guys down some stairs and into the elevator while wearing 4-inch heels and typing on a blackberry. Ran into 5 walls, inadvertenly banged into 3 apt. doors. c'est la vie.

Is the anticipation killing  you? It was killing me. Box Numero Uno–the little guy on top, was eagerly ripped open.

DSCN4351

BIG RED.

Now, as much as I may wish he copied my brilliance, I confess Mr. Bittman is indeed the authority and How to Cook Everything is his brilliance wrapped in crimson.  AND flanked by a shiny, sparkly new microplane. I don’t know how Auntie K did it, but I have literally wished for a microplane no less than 10 times this month (yes I know it’s the 11th. my point exactly.)  There is a lot of cheese grated in my apartment, and as we’ve discussed before, 50% more than required to compensate for grazing dinner guests. My new slim silver friend will make short work of this.

NOW on to, how do you say, de BEEG ONE. It was surprisingly light to carry (and bang into my neighbors’ doors). I pondered the contents for a nanosecond, then went right for immediate gratification.

DSCN4353

FOILED!

What is this? A box in a box! Auntie K, you are a tease. OK second box, you are no match for me.

DSCN4354

EGADS!

A THIRD BOX.  This would be a good time to mention that my kitchen floor is approximately 6 square feet.

DSCN4356

At this point, I have now pinned myself completely against the wall.

Now we’re down to the center of this packaging maze. Glorification is now imminent.  Oh, and was it worth it.

DSCN4357

DSCN4358

DSCN4361

Numerology wine glasses! To tell your future, keep track of how many glasses of pinot you’ve had, or to prevent the spread of H1N1 at your impending holiday galas. Wine charms be damned, these babies are ETCHED. A great size and weight, I can not wait to give each and every one of them a try. Auntie K (and Unkie J!) you are so wonderful. What a way to kick off the big 2-5!  Boundless love to you both, and the Wallster.

3 responses

  1. Glad you liked the presents. I thought those glasses were pretty cool. You will be pleased to know that yesterday Unkie J specifically requested an encore of the ultimate roast chicken, and I honored the request last night. Quite delicious again, and it was much easier to make this time since I took the butter out of the freezer more than 15 minutes in advance. Wally says ARF.

  2. Hi, sorry for this offtopic question but i dont find the RSS Feed Link to add this Blog to my Feedreader. Could you please give me the URL? Thanks a lot.

    Greetings from Switzerland

  3. Pingback: quelle horreur « does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

