pie for breakfast!

My love for all things culinary was hatched at a young age when I discovered how to bake. Cookies, cakes, brownies, lemon squares, you name it.  As I got older (and left the busom of my fantastic cook of a mother), I began to cook more often.  Most recently, my baking has waned most severely because Manfriend never grew a sweet tooth and no one needs me to eat a whole pie.

So, when I saw a request for bakers for the Food Blogger Bake Sale this Saturday, I jumped at the chance to get back to my sugary roots.  As soon as the weather gets cold (or really as soon as it’s no longer August) I start dreaming about pumpkin scones, pumpkin pie, pumpkin anyyyyything. These little joys popped up on my Google Reader a couple times and I had been waiting for an excuse to try them out.  Charity and culinary adventure: a match made in heaven.

Pumpkin Pie Bars
Source: Dinner & Dessert, who took them from Joy the Baker, who adapted them from Kraft

  • 1-1/3 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup  granulated sugar, divided
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup  (1-1/2 sticks) cold butter or margarine
  • 1 cup old-fashioned or quick-cooking oats, uncooked
  • 1/2 cup  chopped walnuts
  • 1 pkg. (8 oz.) cream cheese, softened
  • 3   eggs
  • 1 can (15 oz.) pumpkin
  • 1 Tbsp.  pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons bourbon (optional)
  • a handful of butterscotch or chocolate chips for sprinkling on top (optional)

HEAT oven to 350°F. Line 13×9-inch pan with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides; grease foil. Mix flour, 1/4 granulated sugar and brown sugar in medium bowl; cut in butter with pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in oats and nuts.

DSCN4257

this lighting is quite emo...take that you martha stewart nesting bowls.

DSCN4261

i dont feel so bad skipping the gym after cutting this stuff togther...arms and core work out for sure.

DSCN4264

the nuts an oats in this crust was one of the first things that drew me to the recipe. Crunchy! Hearty! Delicious!

RESERVE 1 cup oat mixture; press remaining onto bottom of prepared pan.

DSCN4266

i love easy steps like this. its like writing something on your to-do list that you already did just so you can cross it off (oh come on, we've all done it).

Bake 15 min.

DSCN4269

another box checked! next time I'll definitely bake this longer. It was set, but could stand to be a little more golden.

Beat cream cheese, remaining sugar, eggs, vanilla, bourbon, pumpkin and spice with mixer until well blended.

DSCN4271

emo ingredients strike again!

Pour over crust; sprinkle with reserved crumb mixture and a handful of butterscotch or chocolate chips (if desired).

DSCN4272

oh i desired.

BAKE 25 min.; cool 10 min. Use foil to transfer dessert from pan to wire rack; cool completely.

DSCN4280

so i missed the part about removing from the pan to cool completely. which probably contributed to my less-than-crunchy crust.

So, after a couple hours of cooling, my pan of bars were acting more like jello than upstanding bar cookies. I popped em in the fridge overnight, and when I went to slice ’em this morning, they were perfect! The crust was crusty! Magic! I cut out a piece to bring to the boss lady (1. because she hearts when i bake and 2. i owed her big time for taking the fall for a minor oversight of mine yesterday) and cut a little sliver for myself.

“Mmm…manfriend do you want to try a bite?”

“It’s pie? Can I have some later?”

“Uh why?”

“It’s 8:30 in the morning, I don’t want pie for breakfast. You don’t have pie for breakfast!”

[incredulous disbelief, indicated by a deep lounge-singer voice] “But whyyyyy not?”

 

DSCN4277

and now, an open letter from your editor: what exactly IS butterscotch? why does it pair so nicely with pumpkin? why do i forget it exists?

 

ps–I will be attempting a second batch of these tonight, sans nut, also for the bake sale. might try some dark chocolate chunks on top with the butterscotch chips. things could get a little crazy.

 

3 responses

  1. You should recreate that as oatmeal. Steel cut oats with pumpkin, a little brown sugar & cream cheese, walnuts, and butterscotch/chocolate? HEAVEN!

    PS – I need to move closer to you. We can share pie for breakfast.

  2. Does this bake sale have a virtual component? Like can I send you $1.50 via Paypal and have these magically arrive at my door? They look incredible and I am definitely trying the recipe, however I doubt mine will come out so pretty. Mmm…

Leave a Reply

