“when i retire i want to make cheese”

“Boy I bet they were glad to see you guys coming.” said my father as I was assembling last Saturday morning’s bounty from the local farmers market. Now, I know it’s really cool to take pictures of the food as it’s purchased from the variety of friendly, local vendors, but it was early, I was not in my normal surroundings, nor was I properly caffeinated, and often still forget that I have this lovely blog that benefits from pretty pictures of friendly farmers.

Now, the Deerfield Farmers Market has a tendancy to resemble Dupont-like crowds (in both size and demeanor) but I was pleasantly surprised to find just a smattering of people, all quite friendly.  MommaBear surmised the frosty temps (45 or so) may have scared them away.

So, here’s the haul:

organic romain lettuce, green beans in the back.

organic romaine lettuce, green beans in the back.

heirloom tomatoes, pipin apples, potatoes, and cheese. Ohhh the cheese.

heirloom tomatoes, pipin apples, potatoes, and cheese. Ohhh the cheese.

The cheese. The brie with apricot preserves and almonds made me DIE. Rachel Zoe style. In the back is some seriously aged cheddar (5, 6 years I think?).  This cheddar prompted my father to declare, “I love cheese…more than anything else. When I retire, I just want to make cheese.”

1. Dad aren’t you already retired?

2. Can I request some bleu?

the whole spread--in the back, fantastic baked good: pumpkin bread, banana nut bread, apple streusel, baby blueberry tarts.

the whole spread--in the back, fantastic baked good: pumpkin bread, banana nut bread, apple streusel, baby blueberry tarts.

And to wash it all down, one gallon of fresh apple cider. Done and DONE.

Leave a Reply

