For Liscious, with love

I made this for the first time a couple months ago when I had my friend Liscious over to show off my fab new apartment. ( I’m sorry other friends…I know you all need shout outs too.)  I read the recipe a few times, understood the method, and then just kind of threw it together while we were chatting over…ice water. Well, we sat down to eat and continued talking until about 5 bites in we both realized how GOOD this salad was! Easy, fresh, flavorful, filling. SOLD. She demanded the recipe and made it for her manfriend to rave reviews as well.

I attempted to recreate the magic last night for Manfriend (capital M). All went well. The pics came out good (after I remembered to take them). We sat down to eat. Oh shit. I oversalted the fish. It’s important to heavily season the fish, as salt and pepper is all it gets…but I got a little overzealous. It happens. It wasn’t unpalatable–just not to my standards. So, note the pics of the prepared fish, and take it with a grain of salt. Oh come on, that joke had to be made.

Sauteed Tilapia with Honey-Scallion Dressing
From Cooking Light
4 servings (I halve it)

Dressing:

  • 2 1/2 T fresh lemon juice (approx 1 lemon, juiced)
  • 2 T chopped green onions
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 T low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 t bottled ground fresh ginger (I use fresh ginger root, minced)
  • 1/4 t dark sesame oil (I use light, I’m sure EVOO works fine)

Fish:

  • 1 T canola oil
  • 4 6-oz tilapia fillets
  • 1/2 t salt (ok, this is way not enough. but i went too far)
  • 1/8 t black pepper (more of this too)
  • 4 c. gourmet salad greens

Method:

  • Prepare dressing: combine first 6 ingredient in bowl, stir well with whisk.

    DSCN4008

    i used a little dressing mixer guy instead of a bowl and whisk. As previously discussed, I dont often follow directions.

  • To prepare fish, heat canola oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat.

 

riveting.

riveting.

  • Sprinkle fish evenly with salt and pepper.  Add fish to pan, cook 3 minutes on each side or until fish flakes easily when tested with a fork.
despite the excess sodium, i'll be damed if this isn't a fine piece of photography.

despite the excess sodium, i'll be damed if this isn't a fine piece of photography.

for real 3 minutes is all you need on each side.

for real 3 minutes is all you need on each side.

  • Arrange 1 cup greens on each plate. (Manfriend likes his greens. We went sky-high with them)
in a supporting role, my cute pics hanging in my cute apt.

in a supporting role, my cute pics hanging in my cute apt.

  • Place one fillet on each plate, drizzle with 2 T dressing.
sha-ZAM!

sha-ZAM!

Manfriend raved about the dressing. It really is awesome–bright and zingy, a perfect match with tender fish and crunchy greens. He wants to try it as a marinade…maybe for shrimp? Or as a dipping sauce for pot stickers or dumplings. Stay tuned–the possibilities are endless!

2 responses

  1. Yes, it’s true, this meal was euphoric. That night will forever hold a warm place in my heart. Truth be told, this meal changed my whole outlook on talapia. While salmon still reigns as my número uno fish, talapia comes in a close second. You made Manfriend(s) and I very happy.

  2. Pingback: green-y and grain-y goodness « does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

