help me donate to haiti

Understatement of the week: Haiti needs our help.

This blog is such a source of joy for me, it seems only natural I employ it to help those in the greatest need.  I’m taking a cue from all the lovely and amazing bloggers below and will donate $1 for every comment in the next 5 days on this post.  All the proceeds will go to Save the Children, a great organization a friend of mine has worked at for a number of years.

I urge you to donate what you can–there are great texting campaigns through the Red Cross (text HAITI to 90999) and Haiti native Wyclf Jean’s Yele Haiti (text YELE to 501510) where your donation of $10 or $5 respectively will be added to your mobile phone bill.

Also, Endless Simmer has a great post on food-based organizations with Haiti Relief.

Here’s a list of other bloggers donating per comment:

Thursday Night Smackdown

Pioneer Woman

Saffron and Blueberry

Savory Sweet Life

Amy Levitt Photography

Cooking Ninja

Let’s go people! Pass this along and let’s get our aid on!

60 responses

  1. Look at you, daughter of mine,
    You have inspired me. I play poker with the guys tonight and I’m going to suggest we donate all our winnings to Save the Children

    love you, dad

  2. Pingback: Giveaway #3 | Help for Haiti | Amy Leavitt Photography, Las Vegas Photographer

  3. Thanks for doing this! And thanks for choosing Save the Children…I love their organization! I work right down the road from them, and they are all awesome folks!

  4. Thank you for doing this. And just as a reminder to everyone (not because you haven’t heard it, but maybe you haven’t done it yet) you can donate $10 to the Red Cross via cell phone by texting the word HAITI to 90999.

    Every cell phone carrier (in the US) is waiving the fees if you choose to do so.

  5. This is so awesome – picked up your link from Michelle @ thursday night smackdown. I have pledged to match her donation to the Canadian Red Cross Haiti fund. Hope you raise lots here – Lord knows they need as much as everyone can give.

  6. This is a fantastic effort – I can’t wait to see the dramatic response that all of my favorite foodies will make!

  7. Hi Karen,
    Thank you for your support and the support of your fellow bloggers! Your donations are greatly needed to allow Save the Children to provide urgently needed medical attention, safe drinking water and other necessities. Please support our affected response to affected children and families by texting SAVE to 20222 for a $10 donation (US only), visit http://www.savethechildren.org/haitifund or by calling 1-800-SAVETHECHILDREN to make a gift. To learn more about Save the Children’s response visit our newsroom at http://www.savethechildren.org.

    Thank you for helping the children of Haiti!

    Elle Russell
    Manager of Community Engagement
    Save the Children

  8. Pingback: Read & Be Inspired « nom nom nom de guerre

  9. I just received a link to your blog from your MN cousin. I’m enjoying reading your previous posts and have added your blog to my RSS feed. Also, love that you are donating to Haiti through encouraging comments!! Thank you for what you are doing!!

Comments are closed.